List of Group Permissions

The following permissions can be assigned to a user group in CMS 9.0.

Permissions on page manipulations: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to modifying pages.

  • Allowed to edit pages: Enables group members to edit existing pages assigned to the current user.
  • Allowed to delete pages: Enables group members to delete pages.
  • Allowed to check-in pages assigned to others: Enables group members to check-in pages that are currently assigned to another user.
  • Allowed to rollback changes: Enables group members to rollback to a prior version of the page.
  • Allowed to assign pages not assigned to them to others: Enables group members to assign pages to other users, even though these pages are not currently assigned to the group members.
  • Allowed to create pages: Enables group members to create a new page via page creation rules or page types depending upon which additional permissions are selected.
  • Allowed to create new pages using page types: Enables group members to create new pages by specifying the page type (as opposed to using page creation rules)
  • Allowed to checkin and checkout pages outside of workflow: Enables group members to check in or check out pages that are not a part of a workflow. Groups with this permission can also check in or check out pages inside a workflow

Permissions on page content viewing and manipulations: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to viewing and modifying pages.

  • Allowed to edit the layout attribute on pages: Enables group members to change the default style sheet applied to the current page.  
  • Permission to edit password elements: Enables group members to edit password elements.  
  • Allowed to view elements marked as “hidden” in Edit form: Enables group members to view hidden elements in the edit form.
  • Allowed to add words to dictionary during spellcheck: Enables group members to add words to the default dictionary during a spellcheck.
  • Allowed to see Edit Form for page edit: Enables group members to access the edit form.
  • Allowed to see page history: Enables group members to see a page's workflow history information.
  • Allowed to view XML tab: Enables group members to access the XML tab in order to review XML corresponding to a specific page or component.
  • Allowed to embed/unembed component fields:

 Permissions on site tree manipulations: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to modifying the site tree.

  • Allowed to reorder pages in the tree: Enables group members to move pages assigned to them, provided that the group has full access to the beginning and ending locations of the pages in the site tree.
  • Allowed to see the tree: Enables group members to view the site tree in the CMS client.
  • Allowed to reorder pages in the tree that are assigned to others: Enables group members to relocate pages assigned to other users. If group members with this permission have full access to the beginning and ending location of a given page in the site tree, they can move another user’s page to a new location in the site tree.

 Permissions on publishing: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to publishing site content.

  •  Allowed to mark and unmark pages for publishing: Enables group members to mark and unmark pages to be published.
  • Allowed to execute a full publish: Enables group members to execute full publishes including a site publish.
  • Allowed to execute an incremental publish: Enables group members to execute incremental publishes.
  • Allowed to repeat a publish to the same root page and Publishing Target: Enables group members to repeat a publish request before a previous, identical publish has completed.

 Permissions on workflow: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to workflow.

  • Allowed to add pages to, and remove pages from, workflow: Enables group members to add a page to, or remove a page from, a workflow.
  • Allowed to transition pages assigned to others: Enables group members to move a page assigned to another user to the next workstate in a workflow.

 Permissions on taxonomy system: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to taxonomy.

  • Allowed to categorize pages and components: Enables the Categorize tab for group members.
  • Allowed to manage taxonomy system: Enables the Taxonomy tab for group members.

 Permissions on assets system: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to managing assets.

  • Allowed to manage asset security: Enables group members to configure security settings for directories exposed in the Manage Assets dialog: Documents, Images, Media, Prebuilt, Schemas, and Stylesheets.
  • Allowed to delete assets: Enables group members to delete files to which the group has access in the Manage Assets dialog: Documents, Images, Media, Prebuilt, Schemas, and Stylesheets.
  • Allowed to manage asset folders: Enables group members to delete and create new folders within the directories exposed by the Manage Assets dialog: Documents, Images, Media, Prebuilt, Schemas, and Stylesheets.
  • Allowed to make changes to assets: Enables group members to modify assets. If this check box is cleared for a given group, the group won’t be able to edit images via the Asset Manager.

Permissions on page presentations designing

  • Allowed to manage Presentation Content Units: Users can work with content units, located at Administration > Presentation Content Units. 
  • Allowed to work with Presentations on pages: Enables group members to access page presentations.
  • Allowed to change layout in Presentation: Enables group members to access page presentations and modify their layouts.
  • Allowed to place Content Units, and remove placed Content Units: Enables the group to modify content units on page presentations.
  • Allowed to move placed Content Units to different locations: Enables the group to modify already-placed content units on page presentations.
  • Allowed to create and manage Presentations on pages: Enables the group to create new page presentations.

 Permissions on languages and localization: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to language localization.

  • Allowed to localize Schemas, Page Creation Rules, and Workflow Definitions/States: Enables group members to localize labels in the Site Definitions Localization pane.
  • Allowed to set page language: Enables group members to set page language at Page Properties > Language.

 Miscellaneous: Assigns or removes the following block of miscellaneous permissions.

  • Allowed to change system settings: Enables group members to modify and configure site-specific settings such as adding users, user groups, creating workflows, etc.
  • Allowed to use “Find and Replace” utilities: Enables group members to use the find and replace function at Administration > Find and Replace.
  • Allowed to see Apps pane: Enables group members to access the Apps pane.
  • Allowed to manage schemas: Enables group members to access the Schema Designer in the Administration pane.