Permanently Delete a CMS Page
Version: CMS 8, 8.x, CMS 9, 9.x
July 20, 2010
Last updated: 1/30/2021
Deleting an XML page and conducting a full publish will remove an XML page from the live site. Once it has been deleted, there is no way to recover the page or the information that it contained. However, deleting a page and conducting an incremental publish will not remove the deleted page from a publishing target, preventing replication from removing the page from the live site.
Note that pages previously linked to a deleted page within navigation will no longer contain links to the deleted page. Hard-coded links, such as those created in body copy sections, are the exception to this rule and will need to be manually edited to remove any link pointing to a deleted page.
To permanently delete a page that no longer needs to appear on the live site.
1. Administrative permissions within the CMS.
2. A page that needs to be permanently deleted.
If the site uses a replication program such as PeerSync (version 7.5 and earlier), use the following steps:
1. Right-click the page that you want to delete in the site tree and select Delete.
2. Perform a full publish of the site.
If the site uses a replication program, you have successfully deleted your site permanently. If your site does not use a replication program, continue to step three:
3. You must delete the XML page from the site directory on the run time site. Locate the page in the publishing target on the CMS site, select it, and click Delete.
Although you have successfully deleted the page from the site tree and the run time site, the page will be moved to the Recycle Folder in the site tree. Should you decide that you deleted the page in error, you can retrieve the page from the Recycle Folder and restore it.