Roll Back a Site to a Previous Version

Product: CMS

Version: CMS 8, 8.x

Published: July 20, 2010

Last updated: 1/30/2021

Comments:
0 Comments

Description

Though Ingeniux Support recommends that any upgrades be performed on a test server with production content, your individual circumstances may require you to upgrade your production servers without a test install. Though the chances of an upgrade failing are small, the need to roll back to the previous version may arise. The steps below will detail how to roll back your Ingeniux CMS installation to the previous version.

Requirements

1. Content backups of both the Design-Time and Run-Time sites

2. IGXSetup.exe installer for the previously installed version of the CMS

Step-by-Step

Note: Prior to any installation, both the Run-Time and Design-Time sites should be backed up. These backups should be made from the following generic locations (actual directory path will depend on your installation):

\xml

 

To roll back, the general steps are as follows:

A. Run-Time Site:

1. Uninstall the Ingeniux CMS version that was installed during the upgrade.

2. Stop IIS.

3. Delete the contents of the \xml.

4. Copy the backup of \xml made prior to the upgrade/

5. Restart IIS/

6. Reinstall the previously installed version of Ingeniux CMS/

B. Design-Time Site*:

1. Stop the PeerSync Service.

2. Uninstall the Ingeniux CMS version that was installed during the upgrade.

3. Stop IIS.

4. Reinstall the previous version of Ingeniux Server Application.

5. Delete the contents of the \xml.

6. Copy the backup of \xml made prior to the upgrade.

7. Rerun the Ingeniux Site Upgrade utility located in the \Ingeniux\cms(x)\tools directory, where (x) represents the version of Ingeniux.

7a. [Optional] Rerun the Mac Client Support Utility located in the \Ingeniux\cms(x)\tools directory, where (x) represents the version of Ingeniux if Mac Client support was previously installed.

8. Propagate the permissions of the directory to all of its subdirectories and files.

9. Restart IIS.

10. Restart the PeerSync Service.

*Rolling back the Design-Time site assumes that no changes have been made to the Design-Time content between the time of the upgrade and the rollback. If modifications have been made, rolling back to the back up of the \xml directory made prior to the upgrade will undo any changes made during this time period. Due to this very scenario, we recommend testing the upgrade in a test environment prior to introducing into the production environment.

for instructions on how to do this)

C. Windows Clients:

1. Windows Client Machine will need to remove the Active X Controls. To uninstal and reinstall the Active X Controls please see How to Manually Install and Uninstall the Ingeniux CMS Client.

Additional Information

To propagate folder permissions, follow these steps:

1. Right-click the \xml directory, click Properties, and click the Security tab.

2. Verify that the appropriate users and groups are applied to this folder, including the local machine's Network Service account.

3. Click Advanced. Verify that the Inherit from parent the permissions entries that apply to child objects check box is selected, then select the Replace permission entries on all child objects with entries shown here that apply to child objects check box and click OK. Given that the appropriate users and groups are configured for this parent directory, propagating these permissions will ensure the appropriate users have access to the \xml directory.


Comments

There are no comments yet.