Replacing CMS 9.0-10.3 Site Instances


Prerequisites: The replacement CMS export version must be equal to or earlier than the installed Ingeniux CMS Site Wizard version.

Replacing a site merges a CMS site export into an existing IIS-hosted CMS instance.

When you replace a site, the following occurs:

  • The existing CMS database merges with the new contents.
  • The replacement overwrites matching items in the database and adds any new items.
  • The export contents overwrite DSS Preview, which upgrades to the wizard's software version.
To replace a CMS 9.0–10.3 site instance:
  1. Navigate to Ingeniux CMS 10.0 > Ingeniux CMS Site Wizard on your server.
  2. Click the Replace Site tab, and click the Browse button to the right of the CMS Export .zip field.

    A File Explorer dialog opens.

  3. Select the export .zip file to replace an existing CMS site instance.
  4. Select the appropriate size in the Batch Size drop-down list.
    Note
    This field configures how many documents the system imports per batch. Higher values speed up site creation but increase memory use.

    Replace Site Tab

  5. Select the Ingeniux CMS 9.0–10.3 site instance that will receive the exported .zip file.
  6. Click Start.
    The Welcome dialog displays.

    Replace Instance Welcome Dialog

  7. Click Next.
    The Confirm Import screen displays.

    Confirm Import Dialog

  8. Click Next to confirm your import settings.
    The Administrative User Configuration screen displays.

    Administrative User Configuration Dialog

  9. Enter an Administrative User ID, then enter and confirm the password in the respective fields.
  10. Click Next.
    The instance replacement setup begins.
  11. To rebuild the DSS Preview Project, click Yes.

    in-rebuild-dss-preview-project-1.png

  12. When the instance replacement setup completes, click Finish.

    Completed Ingeniux CMS Site Instance Setup

Next Steps: After the site replacement completes, the CMS automatically enters a content freeze, where only administrator-specified user groups and users can access the CMS client. Only administrators can deactivate the content freeze. Before ending the content freeze, verify the replacement completed as expected and run post-upgrade tests.

To deactivate the content freeze, navigate to Administration > Maintenance > Content Freeze, then click Cancel Content Freeze in the bottom-right corner of the Content Freeze pane. Confirm the cancellation in the dialog to end the content freeze for all users.

See Setting Up Content Freeze for more details about content freezes behavior, scheduling, and deactivation.