Deleting Content Units

How to Delete Content Units | Delete content units permanently from Ingeniux CMS.


Prerequisites: See Page Builder Prerequisites for details.


You can delete presentation content units from Ingeniux CMS. If you delete the content unit and its built-in view, Ingeniux CMS moves the built-in view from Assets\Views\Shared\Editable to the Recycle Folder in Assets > Assets Tree. To delete the built-in view and not the unit, see Removing Content Unit Views for details.

Without a built-in or external MVC view, the content unit cannot be inserted into Page Builder layouts.

Instances of Deleted Content Units in Page Builder

If you delete the content unit from Administration > Presentation Content Units, you permanently remove the content unit from the CMS. If the content unit exists in a presentation, Page Builder saves the embedded content unit and view as a mapped field, which is unaffected by deletion. However, the deleted content unit is unavailable in the Content Units accordion area of the Design Presentation pane, so if you remove the content unit from the presentation, you can't use the unit again.

Warning: Similarly, if you delete a component schema associated with a presentation content unit, the CMS removes the schema from the content unit, so you must select a different component schema for the content unit. See Presentation Content Units for details.

To delete a presentation content unit:

  1. Navigate to Administration > Presentation Content Units.
  2. Click the desired content unit(s) in the Field Content Units or Component Content Units tab of the Management view.

    Select and Delete Content Unit

  3. Click Delete in the Actions menu. The Deleting Content Units dialog displays.

    Deleting Content Units Dialog

  4. Click Delete Selected Content Units. If the content unit has a built-in view, the Deleting Content Unit Views dialog displays.

    Deleting Content Unit Views Dialog

  5. If applicable, choose whether or not to delete associated built-in views by clicking the appropriate button.

    Note: Ingeniux CMS deletes the content unit permanently and moves deleted built-in views to the Assets Tree Recycle Folder.