Managing Pages in Workflow
A site administrator (or another user with appropriate permissions) can check pages in and out, mark and unmark them for publish, and publish them. In most cases, however, it's a good idea to automate these actions by using workflow. By folding actions into workflow, you ensure that content contributors perform the correct actions at the appropriate times. In fact, with a workflow configured, authors and editors won't even need to be aware of actions like check in and mark for publish.
Workflows are customizable and must be created before they can be used. Once a page has been added to a workflow, it can only be modified by the approved groups of users for that stage of workflow. This means that administrators are often unable to make changes to a page while it is in workflow.
However, administrators have permission to add and remove pages from workflow. If you need to make changes to a page in workflow, you can simply remove the page, modify it, and then add it back to a workflow. Also, pages created outside of page creation rules can be added to workflows for later editing, and pages created in workflow can be removed from workflow to prevent future editing.
The following topics provide more detailed information about managing pages in workflow.