Blocking Group Content Unit Access

How to Block Group Content Unit Access | Prevent specific user groups from accessing specific content units.


Prerequisites:


In Ingeniux CMS 10.x, administrators can restrict groups from accessing specific presentation content units. If the administrator configures Security, then members of blocked groups can't access or view the presentation content unit in Ingeniux CMS. If an administrator blocks a group, members can access the content unit's built-in view via Assets\Views\Shared\Editable in Assets > Assets Tree.

The Blocked Groups field displays the number of groups blocked from accessing the content unit. If unsaved Security changes exist, save the content unit. After you refresh the view, the Blocked Groups field displays the "blocked" count.

Note: The Administrators group, which is automatically generated upon CMS site instance creation, has access to all content units and cannot be a blocked group.

To block specific user groups from accessing a content unit:

  1. Navigate to Administration > Presentation Content Units.
  2. Click the desired content unit in the Field Content Units or Component Content Units tab of the Management view.

    Select and Edit Content Unit

  3. Click Edit in the Actions menu. The Create/Edit view displays.

    Security

  4. Click Security in the Content Unit Actions menu. The Select Blocked Groups dialog displays.

    Select Blocked Groups Dialog

  5. Optional: You can select the Show User Counts checkbox to display the Users Count column in the Choose From and Blocked Groups tables. The column displays the total number of group members.
  6. Optional: You can search for specific groups. Enter the group name in the Filter By field to display search results in the Choose From table.
  7. Select the appropriate group(s) and choose one of the following steps:
    • Drag the group(s) to the Blocked Groups table.
    • Click the right arrow button to move the group(s) to the Blocked Groups table.

    Note: To unblock the restricted groups, move the group(s) to the Choose From table. Drag the groups or click the left arrow button to move them.

  8. Optional: You can use the up and down arrow buttons to reorder the groups in the Blocked Groups field.
  9. Click OK to save your changes in the dialog.
  10. Click Save in the Content Unit Actions menu to save the presentation content unit.