Deleting and Restoring Pages
When a page is deleted, it moves to the Recycle Folder in the site tree. Pages can also be moved from the Recycle Folder back into the site tree as long as the Recycle Folder hasn't been emptied. Permission to delete pages is granted at the group level by the site administrator.
When a page is deleted, several things happen to it:
- If the page is checked out, the checkout is cancelled, and any saved or unsaved changes made since the last checkout are dropped.
- The page is unmarked for publish.
- The page is removed from workflow and no longer assigned to a user.
- The page moves to the Recycle Folder.
- If the page has descendants, they are also deleted.
To Delete a Page:
- In the site tree, select the page to be deleted.
- Right-click the page and select Delete, or drag it to the Recycle Folder.
- Click Delete.
To restore an item from the Recycle Folder, drag it back to the desired location in the site tree. To completely restore the page, you also have to reverse the actions that occur when a page is deleted. It may be necessary to check the page back in, add it back to workflow, mark it for publish, and re-create content (if content was lost from a checked-out page).