List of Transition Actions


The following workflow actions can be configured for transitions:

ActionDescriptionHow to ConfigurePrerequisites
Bridge to Another Workflow

Transitions the item to the initial workstate of a different workflow.

This action cancels the original transition. When this action runs, the CMS does not carry out this transition or the succeeding transitions and actions.

To ensure the appropriate transitions and actions carry out, add this action last in the transition. Place the transition that containing this action last in the workstate-transition relationship cycle.

Select an existing workflow to bridge in Workflow drop-down list.The action assumes other workflows exist.
Check In

Checks in the lastest version of the item to specified publishing targets. The Check In action will run before the transition.

By specifying publishing targets, you can select the environments to publish content. Your selection affects which publishing targets include the latest version of the content items. For example, you may check in an updated page to a test environment without sending the page to production.

Note
All targets are selected for update by default.
See Picking Publishing Targets for details.The action assumes publishing targets exist.
Check OutChecks out the item to the assigned user. The Check Out action will run before the transition.Be sure to click the Confirm plus (+) button to activate the action. No configuration required.n/a
CustomRuns the custom action via the COM interface and the plugins folder of the CMS. The result of running this action will determine which transition to carry out. A custom action requires a ProgID and a Method value. If a custom DLL requires that additional information be passed on, additional attributes and their values can be added via the Add Custom Attribute field.See Configuring the Custom Action for details.The action assumes custom action files exist.
External ClientLaunches the model dialog via the dialog URL. The result of this dialog determines which transition to carry out. The action calls an ASP or other web-based file to execute prior to the completion of the transition.See Configuring the External Client Action for details.The action assumes an applicable ASP or a web-based file exists.
Mark for Publish

Marks the item for publish to the specified publishing targets. The Mark for Publish action runs before the item moves to the next workstate.

You can configure the Mark for Publish action to publish items before transitioning to the next workstate. Similar to the Check In action, the Mark for Publish action automatically publishes content as part of the workflow.

For example, you may use this action for sites that employ test environments. You can test new content in one environment while an older version of the content remains marked for publish to the live environment.

Note
All publishing targets are marked by default.
See Picking Publishing Targets for details.The action assumes publishing targets exist.
Modify Page LifetimeAllows modification of the item's life cycle (i.e., changes the start and end date values). The change takes place before the transition.This action requires two attributes, Start Date and End Date. Click the calendar icons to choose start and end date values.n/a
PublishPerforms a single item incremental publish (the current content item and all dependencies modified since the last publish). The publish runs before the transition.See Picking Publishing Targets for details.The action assumes publishing targets exist.
Revert to Version

Reverts the item to the marked-for-publish version of the specified publishing targets.

Reverting to a previous version of items may be useful in workflow scenarios. For example, a content approver may dismiss a revised page in favor of the last published page version. To facilitate this scenario, you can include a Revert to Version action in the workflow transition.

The Revert to Version action points to a selected publishing target. When the action runs on an item, the item is checked out and the content is reverted to the previous version marked for the publishing target. When the action finishes, the page remains checked out to the current user.

Note
If no previous version of the content item marked for the publishing target exists, the action does nothing.
See Picking Publishing Targets for details.The action assumes publishing targets exist.
Send MailSends a notification email prior to transition to a user group not otherwise associated with the transition. The email sends before the transition.Select a group in the Group ID field to receive email notifications.The action assumes SMTP is configured.
Unmark for Publish

Unmarks the item from publish in the specified publishing targets.

Note
All publishing targets are unmarked by default.
See Picking Publishing Targets for details.The action assumes publishing targets exist.
 

Related Topics