Designing Workflow Area

About Designing the Workflow Area | Use the Designing Workflow Area to visually edit the relationships between workstates and transitions.


Use the Designing Workflow area's visual interface to view the relationship between groups, workstates, and transitions.

Building Workflow

Workstates

Workstates display as objects. The checkered flag icon indicates the initial workstate (i.e., start node) that content items enter when joining the workflow. The start node cannot be removed from the workflow.

Start Node and Other Workstates

If you hover over or click a workstate, connection points display. Use these connection points to add or move transitions.

Workstate Pins

Note: Shaded workstates don't display in user or group Assignments. See Creating Workstates for details.

Transitions

Workstates can have multiple transitions. Transitions display as arrows that indicate advancing content items to and from workstates.

Selected Transition

Hovering over a transition displays the transition name and group to receive the content item. If applicable, the icons indicate which actions execute in the transition. Hover over the icon to display the action name. Click the arrow to select the transition and display square connection points. Use theses connection points to create or modify a transition relationship between two workstates.

Tip: In the Edit Transition dialog, you can use the arrow icons in the bottom left corner to navigate between existing workflow transitions.

Designing Workflow Tools Menu

Use the Designing Workflow menu to undo or redo operations performed in the Designing Workflow area. Use Refresh to reset the Designing Workflow area. For example, refresh the area to view new start node and transition relationship changes.

Designing Workflow Menu

Warning: A refresh cannot be undone. Refresh doesn't affect the Workstate and Workflow Transition areas.

This section includes: