Replacing Site Instances via CMS 10.5-10.6 Site Wizard


Prerequisites:

The replacement CMS export version must be equal to or earlier than the installed Ingeniux CMS Site Wizard version.


Replacing a site merges a CMS site export into an existing IIS instance of the CMS application.

When replacing a site, the following occurs:

  • The existing CMS database merges with the new contents.
  • The replacement overwrites matching items in the database and adds any new items.
  • The export contents overwrite DSS Preview, which upgrades to the wizard's software version.
To replace a CMS 9+ site instance with CMS 10.5–10.6:
  1. Follow the step that corresponds with your CMS site instance installation version.

    Navigate to Ingeniux CMS 10.6 > Ingeniux CMS Site Instance Wizard on your server.

    Navigate to Ingeniux CMS 10.5 > Ingeniux CMS Site Instance Wizard on your server.

    The Ingeniux CMS Site Wizard dialog displays.
  2. Click the Replace Site tab and click the Browse button to the right of the CMS Export .zip field.
  3. Select the export .zip file to replace the existing CMS site instance.
  4. Select the appropriate size in the Batch Size drop-down list.
    Note
    This field configures how many documents the system imports per batch. Higher values speed up site creation but increase higher memory use. The wizard imports all documents in the CMS export .zip file.

    Replace Site Instance Tab

  5. Select the Ingeniux CMS 9+ site instance that will receive the exported .zip file.
  6. Select or clear the Backup Raven Database checkbox.
    Version Notes: CMS 10.6 vs. CMS 10.5
    In CMS 10.6, the Backup RavenDB Database checkbox is cleared by default.

    In CMS 10.5, the Backup Raven Database checkbox is selected by default.

    When the checkbox is selected, the system backs up the Raven Database (RavenDB) instance on disk before the upgrade. For RavenDB 5.x upgrades from Ingeniux CMS 10.0-10.3 to 10.6 and for RavenDB 4.x upgrades from Ingeniux CMS 10.0-10.3 to 10.5, the system uses the backup to import the documents into the new RavenDB instance.
  7. Click Start and choose whether to rebuild the DSS Preview Project.

    Preview Site Binaries Update Dialog

    The Preview Site Binaries Update dialog closes, and the Ingeniux CMS Site Instance Setup Wizard Welcome dialog displays.

    Site Replacement Wizard

  8. Click Next.
    The Confirm Import screen displays.

    Confirm Import Screen

  9. Click Next.
  10. Follow the version note that matches your CMS replacement site version.

    If you are using the CMS 10.5–10.6 Site Instance Wizard to replace a CMS 10.5 or CMS 10.6 site, the wizard advances to the Administrative User Configuration screen.

    • If you are using the CMS 10.6 Site Instance Wizard, the CMS already has RavenDB 5.2 installed.

    • If you are using the CMS 10.5 Site Instance Wizard, the CMS already has RavenDB 4.2 installed.

    The Select RavenDB Location screen displays.

    • If you are using the CMS 10.6 Site Instance Wizard to replace a CMS 9–10.3 site, the wizard upgrades the database to RavenDB 5.2.

    • If you are using the CMS 10.5 Site Instance Wizard to replace a CMS 9–10.3 site, the wizard upgrades the database to RavenDB 4.2.

    See RavenDB Certificates to configure RavenDB and its security certificates. Return to this page for steps to complete the wizard.

    Select RavenDB Location Screen

    After completing the RavenDB location and certificate views, click Next to confirm your import settings.

    The Administrative User Configuration screen displays.

    Administrative User Configuration Screen

  11. Complete the Administrator User ID, Password, and Confirm Password fields, then click Next.

    The instance replacement setup begins.

  12. When the instance replacement setup completes, click Finish.

    Completed Ingeniux CMS Site Instance Setup Screen

Next Steps: After the site replacement completes, the CMS automatically enters a content freeze, where only administrator-specified user groups and users can access the CMS client. Only administrators can deactivate the content freeze. Before ending the content freeze, verify the replacement completed as expected and run post-upgrade tests.

To deactivate the content freeze, navigate to Administration > Maintenance > Content Freeze, then click Cancel Content Freeze in the bottom-right corner of the Content Freeze pane. Confirm the cancellation in the dialog to end the content freeze for all users.

See Setting Up Content Freeze for more details about content freezes behavior, scheduling, and deactivation.