Editing Workflows

How to Edit Workflows | Modify workflow names, workstates, and transitions.


Prerequisites: See Workflows Designer Prerequisites for details.


After creating workflows, administrators may need to revise them.

Caution: Saved edits sync automatically to workflows associated with content items. See Managing Workflows with Reports for details about content items associated with workflows.

To edit a workflow:

  1. Navigate to Administration > Workflows Designer.
  2. Choose one of the following steps:
    • Select the workflow to edit from the list, then click Edit.

      Editing Workflows

    • Double click the workflow you want to edit. The workflow view opens in the main work area.

      Workflow View

  3. From the workflow view, you can edit any of the following items:
    • Workflow Name and Description
      1. Click Workflow Settings. The Edit Workflow dialog displays.

        Edit Workflow Dialog

      2. Change the Name value to meet your needs.
      3. You can either add or change the Description value.
      4. Click OK.
    • Workstates
      1. Select the workstate you want to edit from the Workstates area.
      2. Click Edit.
      3. Change the Name value to meet your needs.
      4. You can either add or change the Description value.
      5. Either select or clear the Active option. If selected, content items moved to this workstate display in user Assignments. If cleared, content items moved to this workstate don't display in user Assignments.
      6. Click Save.

      Additional Info:

      To delete workstates from the Workstates area:
      1. Select the workstate(s).
      2. Click Delete.
      3. Confirm deletion.
      4. Click Save.
    • Transitions
      1. Select the transition you want to edit from the Workflow Transition area.
      2. Click Edit. The transition dialog opens.

        Edit Transition Dialog

      3. See Creating Transitions for field descriptions on the Information and Actions tabs.
      4. To save your changes:
        • Click Save Current Item to save your changes, incrementally.
        • Click Save and Close to save them in total and exit the dialog.

      Additional Info:

      To delete specific transitions:
      1. Select the transition you want to delete from the Workflow Transitions area.
      2. Click Delete.
      3. Confirm deletion.
  4. Click Save in the top menu of the Designing Workflow area when finished making changes in the workflow. Ingeniux CMS saves the workflow in Workflows Designer. This workflow is available for content items in the Site Tree and Assets Tree.

    Important: All workstates require cohesive transitions before saving.