Workflows Designer Prerequisites

About Workflows Designer Prerequisites | Before using Workflows Designer, manipulating workflows, and manipulating content items in workflow, verify that your administrator has accomplished the prerequisites.


In Workflows Designer, administrators create, edit, and delete workflows. Workflows initiate life cycles for content items to advance between workstates and groups.

The following sections outline tasks that CMS administrators need to accomplish before using Workflows Designer, using transition actions, designing WorldView workflows, and adding user groups to workflows.

Important: Only administrators have permissions to use Workflows Designer.

Creating Users and Groups

Workflows serve as a team collaboration tool to complete CMS work items. To transition between workstates, transitions require groups and users to advance content items and accomplish tasks. When content items advance to workstates via transitions, Ingeniux CMS assigns the content items to groups. Group members with permission can assign content items to themselves or another member, or administrators can select a default group member in Workflows Designer.

Create groups to best suit collaboration needs and accomplish specified tasks. For example, implement groups such as authors, editors, publishers, etc.

Complete the following tasks:

Workflow Transition Actions

The majority of transition actions have individual prerequisites. See List of Actions for details.

WorldView Workflows

Administrators can build workflows to translate content. Prior to designing WorldView workflows, complete the following tasks:

Configure the following group permissions:
  • Allowed to localize Schemas, Page Creation Rules, and Workflow Definitions/States: Enables group members to localize labels in the Site Definitions Localization pane.

    This permission item is in the Permissions on languages and localization block.

Setting Workflow Designer Permissions

Only Ingeniux CMS administrators have permissions in Workflows Designer. Site administrators can add users to the CMS default Administrators group or create a new group with administrator permissions selected. No one can modify the permissions in the default Administrators group.

See Creating Groups for details to set permissions for users and groups. To grant administrator permissions to a user group, select the following permission:

  • Allowed to have system administrator privileges & change all system settings: Enables group members to modify and configure all site-specific settings such as adding users, user groups, creating workflows, etc.

    This permission item is in the Miscellaneous block.

    Note: Selecting this permission enables all CMS permissions. To limit individual permissions, clear this checkbox.

Setting Permissions for Workflow Manipulations and Content Items

Site administrators can grant permissions for users work with and advance content items in workflows.

Permissioned Workflow

Administrators may want to control which members from the selected group(s) can advance or receive content items during transitions. Use Administration > System Options > Workflow to configure Permissioned Workflow settings.

See Permissioned Workflow for details.

Workflow Manipulations

Choose from the following workflow-related permissions to manipulate active workflows in the Site Tree and Assets Tree. Choose permissions that best suit each group's needs.

  • Allowed to check-in and check-out pages outside of workflow: Enables group members to check in or check out pages that are not a part of a workflow. Groups with this permission can also check in or check out pages inside a workflow.

    This permission item is in the Permissions on page manipulations block.

  • Allowed to see page history: Enables group members to see the page's workflow history information.

    This permission item is in the Permissions on page content viewing and manipulations block.

  • Allowed to localize Schemas, Page Creation Rules, and Workflow Definitions/States: Enables group members to localize labels in the Site Definitions Localization pane.

    This permission item is in the Permissions on languages and localization block.

Permissions on workflow block: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to workflow.

  • Allowed to add pages to, and remove pages from, workflow: Enables group members to add a page to, or remove a page from, a workflow.
  • Allowed to transition pages assigned to others: Enables group members to move a page assigned to another user to the next workstate in a workflow.
Permissions on workflow with assets block: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to workflow.
  • Allowed to add assets to, and remove pages from, workflow: Enables group members to add an asset to, or remove an asset from, a workflow.
  • Allowed to transition assets in workflow that are assigned to others: Enables group members to move an asset assigned to another user to the next workstate in a workflow.

Workflow Content Items

Depending on the purpose of the workstate and user group, users require differing permissions to work with content items assigned by workflow. See List of Group Permissions for details about all permissions. Choose permissions that best meet each group's needs.

At a minimum, select the following permissions to allow users to edit Site Tree and Assets Tree items:

  • Allowed to edit pages: Enables group members to edit existing pages assigned to the current user.

    This permission item is in the Permissions on page manipulations block.

  • Allowed to work with asset system: When selected, group members can access the Assets Manager.

    This permission item is in the Permissions on asset manipulations block.

  • Allowed to check in/check out assets and asset folders: When selected, group members can check in and check out assets and folders.

    Note: This permission item is in the Permissions on asset manipulations block.

Permissions on asset content viewing and manipulations block: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to viewing and modifying assets.

  • Allowed to edit asset file content: When selected, group members can edit assets such as text files, XML files, code, etc.
  • Allowed to see asset history: When selected, group members can view asset history.