Translation Prerequisites

Translation Prerequisites | Before language-related features are available, verify that your team has completed their prerequisites.


Only administrators can change WorldView settings, edit user account information, and execute cloning operations (i.e., Paste as Clone, Paste New Region Root). The following prerequisites must be in effect in order for the Translate tab to display.

Enabling WorldView

Verify that WorldView is turned on. Be sure to define all languages for users and master and cloned content items in WorldView.

Assigning Language Abilities

Assign language read and write abilities to users participating in translation. Users have permissions to perform language-related tasks after an administrator sets up the following configurations:

Setting Translation Permissions

Setting Permissions for WorldView Configuration and Cloning Operations

Only Ingeniux CMS administrators have permissions to change WorldView settings, edit user account information, and execute cloning operations. See Creating Groups for details to set permissions for users and groups.

To grant administrator permissions to a user group, select the following permission:

  • Allowed to have system administrator privileges & change all system settings: Enables group members to modify and configure all site-specific settings such as adding users, user groups, creating workflows, etc.

    This permission item is in the Miscellaneous block.

    Note: Selecting this permission enables all CMS permissions. To limit individual permissions, clear this checkbox.

Setting Permissions for Language and Localization

See List of Group Permissions for details about all permissions. Choose permissions that best meet your team's needs.

Recommended permissions include:

Permissions on languages and localization: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to language localization.

  • Allowed to localize Schemas, Page Creation Rules, and Workflow Definitions/States: Enables group members to localize labels in the Site Definitions Localization pane.
  • Allowed to set page language: Enables group members to set page language at Page Properties > Language.
  • Allowed to set locale of assets and asset folders: Enables group users to set the locale for assets and asset folders.

Setting WorldView Workflow Permissions

WorldView workflows require administrators to complete workflow prerequisites and select group permissions to allow users to translate and edit content items in WorldView workflows. See Workflows Designer Prerequisites for details.

Setting Content Item Manipulation Permissions

Users require permissions to work with content items in addition to language and localization permissions. See List of Group Permissions for details about all permissions. Choose permissions that best meet each group's needs.

Permissions on page manipulations: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to modifying pages.

  • Allowed to edit pages: Enables group members to edit existing pages assigned to the current user.
  • Allowed to delete pages: Enables group members to delete pages.
  • Allowed to check-in pages assigned to others: Enables group members to check in pages currently assigned to another user.
  • Allowed to rollback changes: Enables group members to rollback to a prior version of the page.
  • Allowed to assign pages not assigned to them to others: Enables group members to assign pages to other users, even though these pages are not currently assigned to the group members.
  • Allowed to create pages: Enables group members to create a new page via page creation rules or page types, depending upon which additional permissions are selected.
  • Allowed to create new pages using page types: Enables group members to create new pages by specifying the page type (as opposed to using page creation rules).
  • Allowed to check-in and check-out pages outside of workflow: Enables group members to check in or check out pages that are not part of a workflow. Groups with this permission can check in or check out pages inside a workflow.

Permissions on asset manipulations: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to asset manipulations.

  • Allowed to work with asset system: Enables group members to access the Assets Manager.
  • Allowed to edit asset metadata: Enables group members to edit metadata in the Assets Manager.
  • Allowed to delete assets: Enables group members to delete assets from the Assets Manager.
  • Allowed to check in assets and asset folders assigned to others: Enables group members to check in assets and asset folders assigned to other users.
  • Allowed to rollback assets: Enables group members to rollback assets.
  • Allowed to assign assets and asset folders assigned to others: Enables group members to assign assets and asset folders to other users.
  • Allowed to create assets: Enables group members to create assets.
  • Allowed to check in/check out assets and asset folders: Enables group members to check in and check out assets and their folders.

Permissions on page content viewing and manipulations: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to viewing and modifying pages.

  • Allowed to edit the layout attribute on pages: Enables group members to change the default style sheet applied to the current page.
  • Allowed to edit password elements: Enables group members to edit password elements.
  • Allowed to view elements marked as "hidden" in Edit Form: Enables group members to view hidden elements in the Edit form.
  • Allowed to add words to dictionary during spellcheck: Enables group members to add words to the default dictionary during a spell check.
  • Allowed to see Edit Form for page edit: Enables group members to access the Edit form.
  • Allowed to see page history: Enables group members to see the page's workflow history information.
  • Allowed to view XML tab: Enables group members to access the XML tab in order to review XML corresponding to a specific page or component.
  • Allowed to embed and unembed component fields: Enables group members to embed components within components.

Permissions on asset content viewing and manipulations: Assigns or removes the following block of permissions related to viewing and modifying assets.

  • Allowed to edit asset file content: Enables group members to edit assets such as text files, XML files, code, etc.
  • Allowed to see asset history: Enables group members to view asset history.