Removing Content Unit Views

How to Remove Content Unit Views | Remove views from content units in the CMS.


Prerequisites:

  • Administrators: Complete prerequisites to enable user access to the Design tab. See Page Builder Prerequisites for details.
  • The following instructions assume that a content unit is associated with a view saved in the Assets Tree.

Removing a view via the Remove View button moves the asset to Assets > Assets Tree > Recycle Folder.

Important: This task doesn't remove DSS views imported to the MVC project.

To remove a view:

  1. Navigate to Site > Site Tree.
  2. In the Site Tree, select or create a page with the layout you want to edit.
  3. Check out the page.
  4. Click the Design tab. The Design Presentation pane opens to the right of the Design tab workspace.

    Design Workspace and Design Presentation Pane

  5. Click the Content Units area in the Design Presentation pane.

    Preview Content Unit

  6. Locate the content unit with the view you wish to edit. Click the Preview Content Unit icon. The Preview Content Unit dialog displays.

    Remove View

  7. Click Remove View. A confirmation message displays.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Optional: Choose one of the following steps.
    • To restore the view, navigate to Assets > Assets Tree > Recycle Folder and locate the view by asset ID. Move the view to Views\Shared\Editable in the Assets Tree.
    • To permanently delete the view, navigate to Assets > Assets Tree > Recycle Folder and locate the view by asset ID (e.g., a/ID). Delete the view from the Recycle Folder.